The 2015/2016 State budget included $15 million to fund the Cooperating Agencies Foster Youth Educational Support (CAFYES) Program, enacted in 2014 through Senate Bill 1023 (Liu) and now called NextUp. The program is housed within the existing community college programs for educationally disadvantaged students, known as Extended Opportunity Programs and Services (EOPS). These programs provide outreach and recruitment, service coordination, counseling, book and supply grants, tutoring, independent living and financial literacy skills support, frequent in-person contact, career guidance, transfer counseling, child care and transportation assistance, unmet need grants, referrals to health services, mental health services, and housing assistance, and other related services.

In order to qualify, students must be under age 26, in foster care on or after their 16th birthday and enrolled in at least 9 units at a college with a NextUp program. The following colleges have NextUp programs.

Northern California

  • Shasta College
  • Sierra College

San Francisco Bay Area

  • Laney College
  • Merritt College
  • Berkeley City College
  • College of Alameda
  • Santa Rosa Junior College

Fresno County

  • Fresno City College
  • Reedley College

Santa Barbara County

  • Allan Hancock College


Orange County

  • Golden West College
  • Orange Coast College
  • Coastline College

San Diego County

  • Grossmont College
  • Cuyamaca College

Los Angeles Area

  • Pasadena College
  • Los Angeles Valley College
  • Los Angeles Mission College
  • Los Angeles Pierce College
  • Los Angeles Trade Tech
  • Los Angeles City College
  • Los Angeles Southwest College
  • Los Angeles Harbor College
  • East LA College
  • West LA College

For more information, visit the Chancellor’s office CAFYES webpage.